damnum absque injuria

10/28/2004

Stupid Voter Tricks

Filed under:   by Xrlq @ 2:25 pm

This has got to be the most transparent political stunt I’ve seen in a long time. If you fell for the scam for even a minute, please do the world a favor, and do not vote. Ever.

‘Hat tip: Patrick Prescott.

UPDATE: Boi From Troy had a good suggestion, look up their whois info. I didn’t find anything of interest from Internic, except to find out that the domain YESBUSHCAN.COM was somehow associated with GANDI.NET. A trip to GANDI.NET, however, revealed that company to be the Gestion et Attribution des Noms de Domaine sur Internet, a French Internet registrar. GANDI has a more thorough WHOIS entry of its own, which I’ve reproduced below:

Whois results for yesbushcan.com

Whois Server Version 1.3

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net for detailed information.

Domain Name: YESBUSHCAN.COM
Registrar: GANDI
Whois Server: whois.gandi.net
Referral URL: http://www.gandi.net
Name Server: NS7.GANDI.NET
Name Server: CUSTOM2.GANDI.NET
Status: ACTIVE
Updated Date: 14-aug-2004
Creation Date: 14-aug-2004
Expiration Date: 14-aug-2005

Last update of whois database: Thu, 28 Oct 2004 07:06:10 EDT

The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .EDU domains and Registrars.
% GANDI Registrar whois database for .COM, .NET, .ORG., .INFO, .BIZ, .NAME
%
% Date: 2004/10/29 01:05:33

domain: YESBUSHCAN.COM
owner-address: Support and Commitment, Inc.
owner-address: 9400 Percival Lane
owner-address: 85725
owner-address: Tucson
owner-address: Arizona
owner-address: United States of America
owner-phone: +1.5209384911
owner-e-mail: info@cheneybush.com
admin-c: SAC25-GANDI
tech-c: AR41-GANDI
bill-c: SAC25-GANDI
nserver: ns7.gandi.net 217.70.177.44
nserver: custom2.gandi.net 217.70.179.35
reg_created: 2004-08-14 10:12:25
expires: 2005-08-14 10:12:25
created: 2004-08-14 16:12:25
changed: 2004-08-14 16:30:47

person: Support and Commitment, Inc.
nic-hdl: SAC25-GANDI
address: Support and Commitment, Inc.
address: 55 W. Maiden St.
address: 10027
address: New York
address: New York
address: United States of America
phone: +1.2128831023
e-mail: info@georgewbush.org
lastupdated: 2004-08-16 19:58:55

person: GANDI Auto Register 4.1
nic-hdl: AR41-GANDI
address: GANDI
address: 38 rue Notre-Dame de Nazareth
address: F-75003
address: Paris
address: France
phone: N/A
e-mail: support@gandi.net

Note that the first email contact points to the domain CHENEYBUSH.COM, which appears to be a copy of the old YESBUSHCAN.COM site they forgot to update. It is also replete with spelling and formatting errors, and a voter registration link that doesn’t appear to do anything. The second email contact uses the domain GEORGEWBUSH.ORG, a long-standing anti-Bush site that dubs itself “The Official Re-selection [sic] Site for President George W. Bush.” Re-selection, get it? Re-selection. Get it? Jeebus, I hope these moonbats didn’t spend too many hours trying to come up with that.

Apparently, the Frisco Chronicle blew their cover some time ago. In that case, one wonders why the “Yes Men” would bother registering their domain through a French company.

7 Responses to “Stupid Voter Tricks”

  1. boifromtroy Says:

    Try doing a whois for the domain name, too!

  2. Spoons Says:

    I took this to be an obvious joke.

  3. Clint Taylor Says:

    The site’s down. Can you give us a hint of what was there?

  4. L.A. Observed Says:

    5 days to go
    The late Richard Avedon’s portraits of the election season run for 32 pages in this week’s New Yorker. They are great. A slide show can be entered at this page, a 1958 profile of the photogrpaher who died on October 1. So, this is the point in a tigh…

  5. Xrlq Says:

    Clint: originally, the site purported to be a Bush re-election campaign. Then they spammed a bunch of right-wing bloggers asking their help in “debunking” documents about Bush’s DUI and a few other things that were old news. Then they conceded that these documents were legit after all, and, surprise of all surprises, switched sides.

    I agree with Spoons that the last version (the one that was up yesterday) was pretty transparent. The original version (which was still up yesterday under cheneybush.com), not really.

  6. Jon Henke Says:

    The Yes Men is a satire/comedy activist group. They even did a movie about their pranks. You’d think that would be a big top-off I blogged about it today, including the people who were taken in by it.

  7. The Lonewacko Blog Says:

    Speaking as someone who’s tried similar cacophonous things in the past, this is funny as hell.

 

Powered by WordPress. Stock photography by Matthew J. Stinson. Design by OFJ.